Makeup Bag Maintenance – The Essentials!

A bit more of an informative post for you today (and quite a long one too – sorry!), as my last one was more of just a fun one! My makeup bag is super important to me, so I try to take good care of it. There are a few simple things you can do to keep your make up at its best, so here are my top tips for makeup maintenance.

The most basic thing to keep on top of is your makeup bag (if you have one!). If the bag itself is dirty, then the likelihood is the contents are too. If the bag can go through the washing machine, wash it regularly. If it can be wiped clean, make sure you get in to all the nooks and crannies. Cant do either? Get a new one when it gets dirty. An unclean makeup bag is likely to be full of dirt, makeup residue and bacteria. Why would you want to put that on your face when it can lead to or worsen breakouts? If you store your makeup in drawers, keep those clean too. Either line the drawer with paper and replace it frequently, or invest in some little plastic trays that you can use to line the drawers that can be taken out and washed easily. Super simple, but so often overlooked.

A good set of brushes can last you years if they are taken care of. Keep them in a brush roll, or upright in a container like a pen pot to keep the bristles from becoming worn and damaged over time. Keeping them clean is also really important. You can get specially designed brush cleaner, or what I tend to do is use Johnsons Baby Shampoo. Its cheap, and does a great job of getting all your makeup off the bristles without leaving a residue or making them stiff. Just get a little bit on your hand, dampen the brush and swirl it about. Its amazing how much makeup one small brush can hold! Make sure you rinse thoroughly, and repeat if necessary. To dry, squeeze out as much water as you can then leave them somewhere to dry naturally. Don’t put them on a towel to dry, as it doesn’t do them much good. It is best to leave them on a window ledge or something similar with the brush hanging over the edge. This allows the air to get all the way round, and the bristles aren’t sitting on a damp surface. You should clean your brushes regularly, depending on how often you use them and how much makeup you use – I tend to clean mine every 1-2 weeks as I use my brushes every day and my foundation I am using at the moment is quite heavy. This keeps them at their best and build up and bacteria to a minimum. Even brushes that very rarely get used should be cleaned regularly.

I don’t really use powder puffs and sponges that often as I don’t think they are the most hygienic way to apply makeup, but if I am on the go or travelling and need to pack light they are a great alternative to taking a big roll of brushes. I tend to opt for disposable ones, which you can wash a few times and then throw away, but there are higher quality ones that can be washed and reused many times before they should be replaced. As a general rule I store these items separately – with my powder puff I don’t keep it in a compact, I keep it in a little ziplock bag. Call me over the top, but I don’t really want to use a powder puff on my face, then put that potentially dirty/germy puff in with my makeup. I keep sponges in a ziplock bag too, as it is best not to have them floating around in your makeup bag picking up all the dirt before using it on your face. Potential breakout zone right there! Eyelash curlers are another makeup tool that often goes forgotten – the rubber pads are easy to clean and curlers often come with a spare pair. I clean the curlers themselves with hot soapy water and a toothbrush to get any makeup out of the grooves where the pads sit. I think it really important to keep these clean as you use them near your eyes, and using something dirty near them is never advisable!

Pallettes are something else that you can easily keep clean with a damp cotton bud. You can go around the packaging and get rid of any makeup that has smudged, or any that has been picked up in your makeup bag. This stops any cross contamination, and it also keeps them looking nice!

Makeup has an expiry date, and when it goes over this date it is best to get rid of it/replace it. This is a rough guideline of when different things are likely to expire:

Mascara- 6 months (but can dry out much sooner depending on formulation or amount of use)

Eyeshadow- 2 years

Eyeliner- 2 years

Foundation- 2 years

Powder- 2 years

Concealer- 2 years

Powder/cream blush- 2 years

Lip liner- 1 year +

Lipstick- 1 year +

So as you can see, most makeup lasts a good amount of time, but a lot of people I have spoken to didn’t know that makeup had an expiry date at all! It is better to keep on top of things and replace bits as you go rather than end up doing a massive overhaul of your makeup which could be quite an expensive shopping trip! Makeup that has become dirty or damaged should be replaced, even if it is way off the expiry date.

So there you go! I hope this post has been useful for you! If you want to see more posts like this, or if there is something you would like to see then let me know! I am finally going to start using Twitter (you can find me here – @LoLiFaBeauty) and Tumblr (you can find me here – youcancallmebea1), so you can pop me a tweet etc. if you have any good ideas! My instagram username is the same as it is here (youcancallmebea), and as I love photography I thought it might be nice to share a few if my snaps with you on there too!

3 thoughts on “Makeup Bag Maintenance – The Essentials!

  1. Pingback: Makeup For Green Eyes #1 | Beauty&Makeup

  2. Pingback: Makeup For Green Eyes #2 | Beauty&Makeup

  3. Pingback: How To Do A Really Clean Makeup | suaaddartistry

Leave a Reply

